The Economics Society of Northern Alberta is a non-profit and non-partisan organization that is supported solely by membership fees, event fees and individual donations.

The objectives of the Economics Society of Northern Alberta are:

  • To promote better understanding and informed public discussion of important economic issues by organizing events that feature prominent presenters; and
  • To support academic achievement in economics through provision of scholarships.

The Economics Society of Northern Alberta has a history that spans more than 40 years in the province of Alberta. In the early 1970s, a group of individuals with experience, training or an interest in economics, began to organize meetings in Edmonton to hear speakers and exchange ideas. Because an Economics Society of Alberta already existed in Calgary, the Edmonton group affiliated itself with that group as the Economics Society of Alberta, Edmonton Section. In the early 1980s, the Economics Society of Northern Alberta was registered as a separate society.


Raja Bajwa


Senior Business Consultant 

City of Edmonton

Hande Roy

Vice President

Senior Policy Advisor

City of Edmonton

Rick Szostak

Past President

Professor and Chair
Department of Economics
University of Alberta

Robert L. Ascah

Program Chairman

Fellow Institute for Public Economics

Ryan Thompson


Analyst, Public Equities

Alberta Investment Management Corp.

David Filiplic


Policy Analyst

Western Economic Diversification Canada


Rick Hersack


Senior Economist

SeaQuaLibrium Consulting Corps

Jeffrey Peters


Manager, Research and Analytics

Western Economic Diversification Canada

Miguel Martinez


Special Projects Manager

York Realty Inc.

Catherine Rothrock


Chief Economist and Executive Director

Alberta Treasury Board and Finance

Blake Lemay

Senior Fixed Income Risk Analyst

Alberta Investment Management Corp.

Christine Manipon

Analyst|Program Analytics

Program Effectiveness Branch|Ministry of Labour

Monty Ross

Account Manager

Real Estate and Construction Services

RBC Royal Bank

Honorary Directors

Mark Parsons

Past President

Assistant Deputy Minister

Alberta Treasury Board and Finance

Government of Alberta

Matthew Schoenhardt


MS Consulting

Paul Precht

Energy Economist

Paul Precht Energy Economics Ltd.

Mel McMillan

Professor Emeritus

Department of Economics

University of Alberta